Skip to content

APG’s Chair is Dedicated to Continuing Work Towards Pulses On Every Farm, On Every Plate FEB 1 2022 | Producers | Blog Post

The Chair of the Alberta Pulse Growers Commission (APG) was elected for a second year to lead the organization towards achieving its vision of pulses on every farm, on every plate.

Robert Semeniuk of Smoky Lake was re-elected to the role of Chair following last week’s virtual annual general meeting. As a result, St. Brides’ Don Shepert remains Past Chair.

“I’m looking forward to continuing the work of this Board to maximize opportunities for Alberta’s pulse farmers,” Semeniuk said. “The addition of two new directors at large will bring fresh perspectives as we continue promoting and building upon the economic benefits of growing beans, peas, faba beans, lentils, chickpeas and soybeans, as well as the sustainability of our industry.”

Semeniuk grows yellow peas and other crops alongside his wife Angela. He will lead an Executive Committee that includes new Vice-Chair Shane Strydhorst of Neerlandia (Zone 3) and Shepert (Zone 5).

John Kolk of Picture Butte (Zone 1) and Beverley Wieben of Fairview (Zone 4) were acclaimed as Directors at Large for Bean and Non-Bean respectively. The previous Directors at Large, Will Muller of Bow Island and Peter Konstapel of Spirit River, were elected as Directors for Zone 1 and 4 respectively.

APG’s 12-member board also includes Directors Greg Stamp of Enchant in Zone 1, Kevin Auch of Carmangay and Allison Ammeter of Sylvan Lake in Zone 2, as well as Chris Allam of Ardrossan in Zone 3 and Jerome Isaac of Crooked Creek in Zone 4.

Outgoing Directors Caroline Sekulic in Zone 4 and Rodney Volk in Zone 1 were thanked for their service at the annual general meeting. Allam was also recognized for his service in the role of Vice-Chair.

The Alberta Pulse Growers Commission represents 6,500 growers of field pea, dry bean, lentil, chickpea, faba bean and soybean in Alberta. Click here to view APG’s zone map by county.

For more information, please contact:
Rachel Peterson, Communications Coordinator
Phone: 780-986-9398 ext. 108