Skip to content

APG’s New Chair is Dedicated to Working with New Board Towards Pulses on Every Farm, On Every Plate JAN 31 2023 | Producers | News Release

The new Chair of the Alberta Pulse Growers Commission (APG) is keen to work with the new and experienced members of the Board of Directors to achieve the vision of pulses on every farm, on every plate.

Shane Strydhorst of Neerlandia was elected to the role of Chair following last week’s annual general meeting. He took over the position from Smoky Lake’s Robert Semeniuk, who becomes Past-Chair.

“I’m looking forward to continuing the great work this board has started under Robert’s leadership to maximize opportunities for Alberta’s pulse farmers,” Strydhorst said. “The addition of two new directors will bring fresh perspectives as we continue promoting and building upon economic benefits of growing peas, beans, faba beans, lentils, chickpeas and soybeans, as well as the sustainability of our industry. I expect to share news about more successes very soon.”

Strydhorst grows peas, faba beans and other crops alongside his wife Sheri. He will lead an Executive Committee that includes new Vice-Chair Peter Konstapel of Spirit River (Zone 4) and Semeniuk (Zone 5).

Peter Hoff of Gleichen and Scott Keller of New Norway joined the board following the AGM as Directors for Zone 2 and Zone 5 respectively.

APG’s 12-member board also includes Directors Greg Stamp of Enchant and Will Muller of Bow Island in Zone 1, Kevin Auch of Carmangay in Zone 2, Chris Allam of Ardrossan in Zone 3, Jerome Isaac of Crooked Creek in Zone 4, Director-at-Large (Bean) John Kolk of Picture Butte and Director-at-Large (Non-Bean) Beverley Wieben of Fairview.

Outgoing Directors Allison Ammeter in Zone 2 and Don Shepert in Zone 5 were thanked for their dedication and many years of service at the annual general meeting. Semeniuk was also recognized for his service in the role of chair for the past two years.

The Alberta Pulse Growers Commission represents 5,400 growers of field pea, dry bean, lentil, chickpea, faba bean and soybean in Alberta. Click here to view APG’s zone map by county.

For more information, please contact:
Rachel Peterson, Communications Coordinator
Phone: 780-986-9398 ext. 108