Skip to content

Pulse Growers Student Award 2013 Recipients (PCN Winter 2014) JAN 23 2014 | Consumers and Producers | Pulse Crop News

This article appeared in the Winter 2014 issue of Pulse Crop News.

Every year, the Alberta Pulse Growers offers two awards (April and December) that recognize projects done by post-secondary students enrolled in agricultural or food studies. The goal of the Pulse Growers Student Award is to encourage the discussion of pulse agronomy, economics and processing amongst students and to offer an opportunity to students to directly engage with the pulse industry. These award recipients will receive a $500 cash prize as well as admission to FarmTech and recognition at the APG Annual General Meeting held during FarmTech.

Lindsey Douglas, Diana LavioletteBrown, Xinyi Ma, Becky Shapka and Zhiyu Yu submitted the “Alberta Fababean Manual 1.0” which is intended to be a reference manual for growers in Alberta. The students determined there was a need for an updated production manual and completed this project during the fall as part of a Crop Science capstone course at the University of Alberta.

The group of students compiled information from a variety of sources including producers, industry representatives, Alberta Agriculture, APG and academic papers into a document that Alberta farmers can reference when growing faba beans. The manual discussed everything from faba bean morphology to seeding depth to what type of inoculants can be used. It also touched on faba bean consumption (both for humans and animals) as well as the marketing of faba beans. APG would like to congratulate the 2013 winners of the Pulse Growers Student Award.

For more information on the Pulse Growers Student Award, please contact Sydney Vos, Member Relations Coordinator at The next deadline is April 15, 2014.