Skip to content

New APG Chair Looks Forward to Building on the Positive Pulse Story for Producers & Consumers FEB 7 2017 | Consumers and Producers | News Release

The new Chair of the Alberta Pulse Growers (APG) looks forward to working with the APG Board to build on the many strides made for beans, peas, lentils and chickpeas during International Year of Pulses in 2016.

“We had a highly successful International Year of Pulses, and I am looking forward to continuing the momentum in pulse production and consumer awareness,” said APG Chair D’Arcy Hilgartner, who served as Vice-Chair for the last two years. “Pulses have a great economic story to tell for producers, and I eagerly anticipate announcing further developments in the areas of export and value-added production. For consumers, we will build on the health and sustainability awareness that has already had such a positive impact.”

Hilgartner farms near Camrose where his family grows a wide range of crops, including peas, wheat, canola, barley, and flax. Pulses have been a staple in the farm’s rotation for over 25 years due to rotational benefits and lower input costs. Hilgartner has participated in research plots and demonstration trials for many years. He joined the Alberta Pulse Growers as a Zone 5 Advisor in 2009, and was elected to the provincial board in 2013. Hilgartner has represented APG at a variety of international events, including most recently at the Pulse Conclave in India, which allowed him the opportunity to explore a country that depends on Canadian pulses to feed its growing population.

Hilgartner said he appreciated the Board’s confidence in electing him as Chair for 2017-18, and looks forward to working with the new and returning directors to keep building Alberta’s pulse industry.

“I am looking forward to working with the other Directors,” he said, “and drawing on their vast experience with APG, other boards and on their own operations.”

Rycroft beef and grain producer Caroline Sekulic was elected as Vice-Chair, and the Executive Committee is rounded out by Past-Chair Allison Ammeter of Sylvan Lake.

APG welcomed Greg Stamp, a partner in his family’s seed farm near Enchant, to the Board following the Annual General Meeting held last week during FarmTech. He will serve as a Director for Zone 1, replacing Robert Weisgerber, who completed his maximum six-year term. Directors also bid farewell to Zone 3’s provincial representative James Jackson. Currently, there’s a vacancy for a Zone 3 Director, and APG will be working with the zone to fill that position. Incumbent APG Director-at-Large (Bean) Tim VanderHoek and Director-at-Large (Non-Bean) John Kowalchuk were each acclaimed to remain in these positions for a one-year term. The Board of Directors for 2017-18 also includes: Rodney Volk (Zone 1); Doug Sell (Zone 2); Ryan Kubinec (Zone 3); Fraser Robertson (Zone 4); and Don Shepert (Zone 5).

The Alberta Pulse Growers Commission represents 5,000 growers of field pea, dry bean, lentil, chickpea, faba bean and soybean in Alberta. Our vision is to have Alberta pulses recognized by consumers as environmentally friendly, healthy, nutritious, and recognized by all producers as being an essential element in a sustainable cropping system.

For more information, please contact:

Rachel Peterson
Communications Coordinator
T 780.986.9398 ext. 3