Skip to content

Chair’s Report (PCN Fall 2014) SEP 25 2014 | Consumers and Producers | Pulse Crop News

This article appeared in the Fall 2014 issue of Pulse Crop News.

Richard Krikke, APG Chair

Just as we are catching our breath from the busy harvest season, APG’s Zone Annual General Meetings (AGMs) are just around the corner. This is an opportunity for grower members across the province to learn about how the Alberta Pulse Growers has been working on their behalf to grow the industry over the last year, as well as to contribute to APG’s future direction.

It is very important that the growers who farm in each of the five zones attend the meeting in their zone. It’s critical as a grower to see how levy dollars have been spent, and that members have the opportunity to discuss these activities with APG directors, staff and other growers.

Elections will also be held at the meetings for available zone positions. The people who are elected to represent the zone are often elected in the future to serve as a provincial director, so please come out and make your voice heard and your vote count.

Some of the zone meetings this year will be held in conjunction with Alberta Wheat Commission (AWC) and Alberta Barley Commission (ABC) meetings in order to make attending these proceedings easier and more efficient for producers.

  • Zone 1: December 8, Taber Legion, Taber
  • Zone 2: November 20, Lacombe Memorial Centre, Lacombe
  • Zone 3 (with AWC): November 12, Westlock & District Memorial Hall, Westlock
  • Zone 4 (with AWC & ABC): November 13, Holiday Inn and Suites, Grande Prairie
  • Zone 5 (with ABC): November 27, Reunion Station, St. Paul

Please note that the APG zones to which some producers were assigned have shifted due to a regulation change this summer.

The regulations regarding zone catchment areas are addressed in the regulation changes as follows. The zone border adjustments took into account the barley, wheat and canola borders, and align the pulse borders closer to those of other organizations. This will make it easier for growers to recognize which areas they are in for any joint meetings. Direction of trade and commonality of pulse crops and production methods between areas was also taken into account.

Please note that if you are located in Wheatland, Vulcan and Foothills counties you are now in Zone 2. Alberta Pulse Grower members in the Counties of Stettler and Paintearth are now in Zone 5. If you farm in the County of Wetaskiwin, you are now part of Zone 3. You are now part of Zone 4 if you are in the MD of Opportunity or the MD of Lesser Slave River.